Google: Boolean Operators & Phrase SearchingEvaluating Sources
This is the "Research: Getting Started" page of the "Research: Getting Started" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research: Getting Started   Tags: citations, databases, literature review, research  

Last Updated: Jun 2, 2014 URL: http://andersonuniversity.libguides.com/content.php?pid=299826 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Research: Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What's in this guide

Research Questions?


Sometimes the hardest part of research is just getting started!  And where to start?  This LibGuide will lay out a basic plan for conducting research, it will be up to you to put it in action!

PLAN - is one way to organize your research/paper-writing process.

Big6 Process - is another way to organize your process.

General Literature Review - will help you get started on the research process.

Specific Literature Review - will help you dig deeper into research areas.

ORGANIZE - will help you organize your notes in preparation for writing.

DOCUMENT - will help document/cite your sources.

Writing Tips - contains resources that will help you with the writing process.

Opposing Views - will help you find resources that contain controversial or just two side of an argument.

Search & Evaluation Tips - will help you with Google and other search engines AND help you evaluate credible web pages.

 

OneSearch - Generic Search Box - Left Side of LibGuide

Research databases
 

Welcome!

This guide provides several suggestions on how to get started and get organized for the big research project.  If you need/want more assistance, PLEASE let us know!  We are happy to work with you.
ALSO, if you have any suggestions for this guide, we would love to hear them. 
Please use the following contact information to communicate with us.

 

Choosing a Topic

This short tutorial from PSU Libraries will help you with selecting a topic.

Choosing a Topic -from PUS

 

Eight Steps for Starting a Research Paper

Research Wordle1. Know what the assignment is.  When your professor gives you the assignment, take the time to understand right off the bat what it actually entails.  Do you understand the terminology?  Do you understand what the final product should look like?

2. Get an overview by consulting an encyclopedia, handbook or specialized dictionary.  This is especially important if your area of research is less familiar to you. As you read, start focusing your topic.  Wikipedia is also good for getting an overview.

3. Brainstorm questions & keywords.  The questions help direct your research. You'll need the keywords for database-searching.

4. Identify the sources to search.  Usually you want books and articles for a credible paper. For books you'll use the Library Catalog. For articles you'll use databases — usually at least one subject-specific one.  Try starting with OneSearch, which searches several databases at once.

5. Focus your topic further into a thesis statement.  This is your road map for further research — and for writing the paper. You will state it near the beginning (e.g., end of your introduction). It tells the reader how you will interpret the significance of the subject matter under discussion, and what to expect from the rest of the paper. It presents your argument. The rest of the paper, the "body", gathers and organizes evidence to persuade the reader of the logic of your interpretation.  Use an outline to stay on track.  Jot down a rough outline listing main points you want to cover in your paper, so you can stay on track when writing. Is each point germane to your thesis, whether for background or argument?

6. Scope of your topic: too narrow or too broad?  Choosing too narrow a topic or one that doesn't have much information about it can make researching a six- or ten-page paper frustrating. (So can too broad or vague a topic.) When you choose your topic, try to make it something that you know has enough sources to help you construct your argument.  Go back to #3.

7. Keep track of your findings.  Email useful articles to yourself so you can't misplace them. For each source you might use, make sure you have enough data for your list of references. Keep a list of resources with their citation information.  Not only will you have it to complete your citations, but if you need to return to a source, you can easily find it. (See #9)

8. Cite everything you use.  Consider doing your bibliography (or "works cited" or "references" list) first, or as you go, so you can refer to it when doing in-text citations as you write your paper — this saves work overall. As well, it means you're not faced with this detailed task when you're bleary-eyed at the very end of writing your paper!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip