Finding eBooks Using OneSearchFinding eBooks Using the Library Catalog
eBooks on EBSCOhost on the iPad
ebrary on the iPadebrary: YouTube Tutorial
BusinessCriminal JusticeHistoryLiteratureMusicPrimary SourcesPsychologyScience
eBooks on EBSCOhost on the iPadebrary on the iPad
This is the "Home" page of the "eBooks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Mar 12, 2014 URL: http://andersonuniversity.libguides.com/content.php?pid=199762 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Top eBook Links

Best Sources

OneSearch - Links to all books owned by the library, and all the databases noted below, except ebrary.

Library Catalog - Contains all eBooks owned by the library.  (about 100,000)  Does not contain subscriptions!

    Top eBook Databases

    • eBooks on EbscoHost  
        
      140,000 eBooks on all topics. Searching for eBooks within eBooks on EBSCOhost instead of the Library Catalog has the added advantage of being able to search across the complete word by word content of every book within eBooks on EBSCOhost - as opposed to just an author, title, or subject search. (Ebsco)
    • ebrary  Icon
      110,000 titles on topics. Only about 4,000 titles are also included in the Library Catalog. Searching within ebrary gives you access to all titles and allows you to search across the complete word by word content of every book within ebrary - as opposed to just an author, title, or subject search in the Library Catalog. You can also copy and paste, email, cite, take notes, and share your research within ebrary.
    • SpringerLink  
        
      Includes almost 40,000 eBooks. Particularly strong in Business, Medicine, Science,and Technology.
    • Credo Reference  Icon
      776 encyclopedias, dictionaries and reference books. 200,000 graphic images. You may search titles individually, all at once, by major subject categories, or in any combination.
    • Gale Virtual Reference Library
      Contains over 1,100 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Particularly strong in Business, Education, History, and Literature.
      (Gale)
    • E-Duke Books Scholarly Collection
      Site for reading, searching, and sharing over 1,500 Duke University Press books online. Strong in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
     

    Welcome

    Welcome to the eBooks LibGuide.

    eBooks are like, well, books - only electronic. In many cases these digital copies look exactly like the original book.

    But not always. Some eBooks more closely resemble databases. This is often true of encyclopedias and dictionaries where you look up a topic and only see the relevant results - never the entire book.

    • Some eBooks look exactly like the original - some don't.
    • Some eBooks can be read "cover to cover" - some can't.
    • Some eBooks can be downloaded - some can't.
    • Some eBooks are free - some aren't.
    • Most eBooks can be found using the Library Catalog - but not all.
    • Most eBooks can be found using OneSearch - but not all.
    • Most eBooks can be searched word by word - but not all.
    • Many eBooks come with bells and whistles that let you take notes, bookmark passages, generate citations, etc. - but not all.

    Confused? Well, that's why we have created this LibGuide. Most of your answers can be found here, and if they can't, use the Survey Box to the right to ask your question, and we will update the LibGuide to include the answer.

     

    Two Kinds of eBooks

    eBooks tend to fall into two categories - those you read cover to cover and those you access to find an answer.

    In the second category, you get in, you find your answer, and you get out. This type of eBook includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbook, guides, etc. When using them you may never see the entire book. Instead, the eBook's search engine will only retrieve the relevant articles or passages identified in your search. This kind of eBook acts more like a database than a book.

    Compare the different reading / searching-within-text experience of these two eBooks.

    An eBook to Read -Uncle Tom's Cabin, by Harriet Becher Stowe.

    An eBook to Access - Britannica Online Encyclopedia

     

    eBook Databases By Size

     

    eBook Collection Grows and Grows

     

    Feedback

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:


    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip