BUS 505 - Strategic Human Resource Management: Recommended Reading

This book explains how an organization can measure and manage performance with the Balanced Scorecard methodology.

The Big Book of HR provides any business owner, manager, or HR professional with the most current information to get the most from their talent - from strategic HR-related issues to the smallest tactical detail of managing people.

Clear employee policies help you run a productive workplace and avoid legal problems.

This Elgar Introduction provides an overview of some of the key theories that inform human resource management and employment relations as a field of study.

Reflects the changes in the mission of human services professionals as they face today's increasingly diverse service population.Diversity encompasses a broad range of human differences, including differences in ability and disability, age, education level, ethnicity, gender, geographic origin, religion, sexual orientation, socioeconomic class, and values.

Guide to help navigate top 20 federal laws regarding employment issues. Explains which law corresponds with what type of business and which federal agency they are enforced by, plus other helpful resources.

Handbook that investigates recent research regarding personality and the workplace. Work psychology research shows how personality is linked to job performance, attitudes of employees, stress, turnover, and more.

Addresses more than 200 questions that every employer needs to deal with, from recruiting and hiring to discipline and downsizing, compensation and benefits to training and employee relations.

An HR guide for helping aspiring human resources executives to bridge the gap between company policy and the human experience.

This four-volume set provides updated empirical research and best practices for understanding and managing workplace diversity in the 21st century, including issues of gender, race, generation, disability, sexual orientation, national origin, and age.

A two-volume handbook to guide in human resource management. Vol. 1 discusses how to hire, train, fire, develop, and compensate employees based on federal and state employee laws. Vol. 2 discusses the bigger picture including conflict management, leadership development, forecasting trends, creating policies, and more.

Combining up-to-date research, innovative content and practical perspectives, this book is the benchmark by which all other strategic HRM reference works should be measured.

This handbook provides the fundamentals regarding human resource management within the context of current theoretical deliberations from international scholars.

A guide to protect companies and employees from harassment and discrimination in the workplace. Learn how to develop policies, train employees and management, investigate claims, and more.

A guide to help educate managers on sexual harassment in the workplace by providing clear concepts, practice tools, and example scenarios.

This book is a resource on dealing with sexual harassment in the workplace by providing information and instructions on filing a complaint, finding a lawyer, what your employer needs to do, who and where you can find help, and more.

An extensive guide that goes over employee rights in the workplace. Covers topics such as illegal firing, wages and hours, challenging job loss, sexual harassment, and more.

The plain-English business guide to avoiding social media legal risks and liabilities--for anyone using social media for business--written specifically for non-attorneys

This examines topics which embrace a wide array of Personal Web Usage issues such as antecedents of Web usage, frameworks/models of Web usage, Web technologies for monitoring usage, Web usage within other cultures and countries, Measurement issues of Web usage, and the impact of Web usage among others.

Guidebook that covers policies for employers and workplace technology such as personal phones used for work and what to do.

Practical litigation issues in social media cases -- Social media and attorney ethics -- The evolving social media jurisprudence -- The case for corporate social media compliance policies -- What should the social media policy cover? -- Social media policy toolkit--sample provisions for building a corporate policy -- Privacy and social media--who controls social media data -- Privacy policy comparison : facebook, myspace, twitter, linkedin, and google -- Taxonomy of social media service privacy policies

Whether you're addressing an initial infraction or handling termination-worthy transgressions, you need to be 100 percent confident that every employee encounter is clear, fair, and most importantly, legal.

This book is packed with the legal and practical information you need to handle problems without getting into legal trouble.

Shows you how to legally and successfully investigate and resolve any type of complaint or problem. It covers common workplace issues such as harassment, discrimination, violence, drug and alcohol use, and employee theft.

For the employer who needs an effective approach to coaching and disciplining employees

Manage employee problems, legally and effectively.

Investigate--and resolve--common workplace problems.

A complete and detailed guide suitable for HR professionals and students on advanced human resource management courses.

Armstrong considers how evidence-based material informs understanding of the position performance management has reached and provides practical guidance on how this evidence can be interpreted and applied.

Each chapter illustrates in practical terms how to select, plan, implement, and manage performance interventions, as well as how to evaluate their results.

'The Human Resources Scorecard: measuring the return on investment' is the first book to provide a comprehensive, step-by-step process for measuring return on investment in human resources programs. Based on the classic ROI definition of

When it comes to mentoring, peer coaching is an undervalued workhorse. It's effective, inexpensive, widely applicable, and relatively easy to implement. Many coaches consider it to be the next wave in professional development. Peer Coaching at Work draws on research and practice to deliver a hands-on guide to this powerful relational learning technique. The authors--all leaders in the field--present a rigorously tested three-part model for facilitating peer coaching relationships in one-on-one settings and in larger groups. With lively case studies, they define peer coaching as a focused relationship between equals who supportively learn from, actively listen to, and judiciously question each other, which leads to breakthroughs that may otherwise lie dormant in one's career. A fundamental guide for anyone with an interest in mentoring and transformational learning, this book is a must-have for the talent management bookshelf.

Stop Bullying at Work helps HR professionals, legal professionals, and business leaders understand * what workplace bullying is * the harm done to organizations that ignore or minimize bullying behavior * the differences between a workplace bully and a tough boss * the differences between workplace bullying and hazing and harassment

What is workplace bullying? -- What is not workplace bullying? -- How common is bullying and what does it cost? -- Who is involved and why does it happen? -- Rights and responsibilities -- The legal context -- Taking action -- Planning and implementing controls -- Designing and implementing complaints procedures -- The target's perspective -- Moving beyond workplace bullying .

Combining a comprehensive study of employment practices with academic research on human behavior, author Dominick uncovers what really prevents harassment in the workplace (and what does not). A multifaceted and proactive approach is presented that examines leadership behavior critical to promoting a culture of respect and establishing appropriate policies and behavior expectations.

Lawsuits are filed everyday against employers who tolerate or encourage workplace bullying. This book helps both employers and workers understand the problem, evaluate their options and take constructive action.

This book explores the impact of bullying from the perspective of both the employee and the organisation in which they work. In addition to describing the negative outcome of bullying, Workplace Bullying also looks at ways to promote resilience and the opportunity for growth and learning to take place.

It provides sample policies, forms and checklists to help you at every step.

Covers hiring • performance evaluations and documentation • training and development • benefits • compensation • employment laws • documentation and records retention • firing and separation The book clarifies hot-button issues such as dealing with conflict, privacy issues, COBRA compliance, disabilities, sexual harassment, and more

Everything you need to conduct employee evaluations that get results -- and within the bounds of the law.

Packed with ready-to-go checklists, sample brochures, job descriptions, customizable forms, interview questions, performance review templates, and more, this one-stop book puts tons of best practices at your fingertips.

While it includes mainstream topics such as interviews, job analysis and question types, it is the first text to introduce topics such as crowd sourcing, social networking, Skype and distance interviewing.

"Nothing is more important to the productivity of an organization than its hiring program. For almost 20 years, this book has been the go-to reference on every aspect of the employment process.

This short and to-the-point book guides managers through all the necessary steps to successfully hiring the "right" person, including: planning, profiling, advertising, assessing resumes, interviewing, legal and ethical guidelines for hiring, selling the company to the candidate and the candidate to the company, references, red flags to watch for, and much more.

This new collection looks at the most important contemporary issues in recruitment, selection and assessment today, highlighting the latest research from the perspective of both recruiter and applicant.