If you are not familiar with your topic it is good to find a quick introduction to it that can provide a broad outline, definitions, correct spellings, related subject terms to broaden or narrow your research, and a list of suggested readings. Here are some suggestions:
Subject dictionaries and encyclopedias; i.e. - Dictionary of Cancer, Encyclopedia of Global Warming, etc. - available through OneSearch.
Research Starters - Found in OneSearch . Research Starters provide an overview and suggested bibliography. The more specific your topic, the less likely there is a Research Starter.
Topic Pages - Found in Credo Reference Topic pages an overview and suggested bibliography with links out to reference sources found in Credo Reference. The more specific your topic, the less likely there is a Topic Page.
Warning - Although Subject dictionaries and encyclopedia may be cited in papers, General encyclopedias Research Starters, and Topic Pages should not.
Each assigned group or individual will give One or Two creative 20 to 25-minute oral presentation(s) on a twentieth century management innovator(s) to the class. Less than 15 minutes will receive no credit.
The team or individual will be responsible to field a question and answer period following the presentation.
The presentation should focus on the management innovators contribution to management theory and practice. Who inspired the management innovator’s thought and work? Where do we still see evidence of the work of the management innovator?
The presentation should be professional in nature complete with visual aids. Each team or individual will be required to turn in all information used in your presentation It should also be highly creative yet professional.
During the semester you will be required to complete an organizational analysis of an organization of your choosing. Your objective is to analyze the organization’s environment, managerial policies and practices, and make recommendations for potential improvement.
Areas to cover in the analysis are planning, organizing, leading, and controlling.
You are to research what published authors have to say regarding topics under these for areas of management. How does the organization you are analyzing incorporate these concepts?
In your analysis, use the biblical principle you described in your summary paper and evaluate how well this principle is utilized in the organization you are evaluating.
Your research should be 8 to 10 pages and complete with bibliography. You are to utilize a minimum of five (5) sources for your paper.
W. Edwards Deming
Mary Parker Follet
Frank and Lillian Gilbreth