Academic writing - Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Music - Bibliography - Methodology
Music - History and criticism
Music - Information resources
Music libraries - Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Musicology - Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Musicology - Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Musicology - Information resources
Musicology - Study and teaching
Report writing - Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Music in words: a guide to researching and writing about music / Trevor Herbert.
How to write : some basics for shorter writing tasks -- Doing research : a basic method for longer projects -- Using libraries and the Internet -- Scholarly documentation : citing sources -- Using illustrations : notated music, pictures, tables, and other visual representations -- Language and numbers -- Some musical terms and phrases -- Sources and research tools -- Citations I : the printed word and its electronic equivalents -- Citations II : musical sources
Music Library and Research Skills by 
Empirical Musicology by
The study of music is always, to some extent, "empirical," in that it involves testing ideas and interpretations against some kind of external reality. But in musicology, the kinds of empirical approaches familiar in the social sciences have played a relatively marginal role, being generally restricted to inter-disciplinary areas such as psychology and sociology of music. Rather than advocating a new kind of musicology, Empirical Musicology provides a guide to empirical approaches that are ready for incorporation into the contemporary musicologist's toolkit. Its nine chapters cover perspectives from music theory, computational musicology, ethnomusicology, and the psychology and sociology of music, as well as an introduction to musical data analysis and statistics. This book shows that such approaches could play an important role in the further development of the discipline as a whole, not only through the application of statistical and modeling methods to musical scores but also--and perhaps more importantly--in terms of understanding music as a complex social practice.
Music research : a handbook / Laurie J. Sampsel.
Sourcebook for research in music / Phillip D. Crabtree and Donald H. Foster.
Ethnomusicology by
Ethnomusicology: A Research and Information Guide is an annotated bibliography of books, recordings, videos, and websites in the field of ethnomusicology. The book is divided into two parts; Part One is organised by resource type in catagories of greatest concern to students and scholars.
MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning by
.Throughout both volumes in this essential set, focus is placed on the musical knowledge and musical skills needed to perform, create, understand, reflect on, enjoy, value, and respond to music.
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research in American Music Education by
A key resource for drawing meaning from the experiences of students and teachers in music classrooms and communities.
