Skip to main content

Music History: Home

Other Music Research Guides

Important Research Guides from Other Libraries

The following guides have been selected as some of the best in the nation for research advice and support. Although the Thrift Library will not have the same resources, most books, articles, and media can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.

The Music Dictionary

George Grove - The Music DictionaryThe Music Dictionary features The Grove Dictionary of Music Vol II, the trusted music dictionary of musical terms and musicians for over 100 years. The Music Dictionary is free online and Vol II has over 10K music terms and musician bios for your personal and research use.

Welcome

This Research Guide attempts cover the the history of western music from early times to present. It identifies the best resources and search tools and also provides helpful advice on library research.

Important Reference Works

Important Databases

Journal of Music History Pedagogy

Journal of Music History Pedagogy

The Journal of Music History Pedagogy is a bi-annual, peer-reviewed, open-access, on-line journal dedicated to the publication of original articles and reviews related to teaching music history of all levels (undergraduate, graduate, or general studies) and disciplines (western, non-western, concert and popular musics). The JMHP holds no single viewpoint on what constitutes good teaching and endorses all types of scholarship on music history pedagogy that are well-researched, objective, and challenging. The JMHP is a publication of the Pedagogy Study Group of the American Musicological Society; it is indexed in RILM and DOAJ.

Music Specialist

Thrift Library
Contact:
864-231-2049

Crank Up the Phonograph

Crank Up the Phonograph: Who We Are and Where We Came from in Early Sound Recordings

"A free academic work that attempts to understand how Americans in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries viewed themselves, others, and the general world they encountered."

Oxford Music Online Tutorial

For more information on using Oxford Music Online, click here.

OnMusic Dictionary

OnMusic Dictionary

OnMusic Dictionary is the successor of former Virginia Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary.

Also includes browsing by Instrument Classifications, Composers, Symbol Charts, and an Appendix with music fundamentals, music history, and performance practice.

Award-winning, pioneering designers, developers, publishers and distributors of world-class, accredited courses, training programs and services used in-classroom, online or blended environments in over 1500 colleges and universities in the USA and abroad since 1999.