Skip to main content

Music Education: Home

Although still in progress, this is a selective guide to the fundamental and essential resources necessary for undertaking undergraduate and graduate research in music education.

teoria.com: music theory web

teoria.com is a web site dedicated to the study and practice of music theory. We are part of the Internet community since January 1997. teoria.com has been developed by José Rodríguez Alvira as a complement for his courses at the Conservatory of Music of Puerto Rico.

21st Century Literacy Skills in Music Ed

OneSearch - Fine Arts

Research databases
Limit Your Results
 
 

Important Reference Works

Important Databases

Music Specialist

Education Statistics

The South Carolina Government Bit By Bit: Education: Statistics Research Guide explores South Carolina state agency websites to find statistics at the district and school levels for poverty, dropouts, achievement scores, libraries, and much more.

Also, watch the video from the webinar:  2014 11 20 11 03 South Carolina State Government Bit by Bit Education Statistics

Thrift Library Catalog

To search the Library's Catalog, click HERE.

Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music (HEBM)

Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music (HEBM)

Extensive collection of data for concert band. Includes much more information than the previous edition published on CD ROM.

OUR GOAL: To document every concert band work and composer.

Band enthusiast can subscribe for complete access to:
    * over 22,000 composers listings and biographies
    * over 100,000 searchable works
    * hundreds of program notes
    * constantly updated information

Research is ongoing, with HEBM editors constantly adding new composers and updating and expanding data.

 

OnMusic Dictionary

OnMusic Dictionary

OnMusic Dictionary is the successor of former Virginia Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary.

Also includes browsing by Instrument Classifications, Composers, Symbol Charts, and an Appendix with music fundamentals, music history, and performance practice.

Award-winning, pioneering designers, developers, publishers and distributors of world-class, 
accredited courses, training programs and services used in-classroom, online or blended environments 
in over 1500 colleges and universities in the USA and abroad since 1999.

Music Theory Pedagogy Online

Music Theory Pedagogy Online is a website that serves as a repository for all things relating to music theory pedagogy. The comprehensive site will contain a vast array of materials ranging from 25 years of back issues of the Journal, to ancillary materials for new Journal articles (e.g., scores, recordings, video demonstrations), to a growing collection of peer-reviewed E-articles, supplemental teaching materials (e.g., lesson plans, sample analysis and assignments, syllabi, etc.), and video teaching demonstrations. A textbook authors' helpdesk, and various inter-institutional initiatives will also be available (e.g., a peer tutoring program).